Inspirational Women

Hey guys so today is international women’s day, and I was thinking about the women who inspire me and help my drive to my own goals, I think these women are amazing and are great role models.

First up is the woman who brought me into the world, my lovely mother I know everyone says that their mum is amazing, but mine really really is. She raised me, my brother and sister all by herself and still looks amazing. She has always been there for me and helped me through everything. I could go into so much more detail about how much she does for me but I can just summaries by saying what a great woman. okay so next up is someone who does something which is what I’ve wanted to do all my life, Maya Angelou is a writer and poet. I’ve read her autobiography ‘I know why the caged bird sings’ and the things she’s been through inspire me to take anything negative in life and use it. her poetry is amazing and I strongly recommend reading all her poetry you can get your hands on! My personal favourite (which I actually have up on my wall) is Phenomenal Woman, this poem helps cheer me up every time I get down or negative about my self.

next is someone who people don’t really get when I tell them I look up to her, but to me she is one of the smartest business women Kim Kardashian, as you guys may have noticed I’m a curvy girl, when Kim rose to fame the body type that women were meant to look like twigs, she changed how we see the female body and how we see women, in my opinion anyway. She refuses to fit into only one box, and has managed to turn a family into a multi million dollar company.

Audrey Hepburn, is someone who’s legacy frustrates me so much. She is remembered as someone who was very beautiful, but she did so much more than that – her whole life she did amazing charity work and actually quit acting to dedicate more of her time to helping others. She famously said ‘as you get older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself, the other helping for others’

Frida Kahlo is my favourite artist, she painted self portraits of herself with a mono brow and moustache, when she was younger she would dress as a man because she agreed with her father more than her mother, her inability to have kids inspired her art pieces. She was actually featured in the new Disney movie coco, and I love that they featured her. I just think she is highly intelligent and talented.

Okay so last but not least is Malala Yousafzai, she is actually my age and currently studying at Oxford university, she was shot in the head by the Taliban for trying to get an education. To me she stands for equality, freedom and as a reminder of how lucky I am to be getting an education.

So they are some of my role models, I hope you all have an amazing international woman’s day, let me know in the comments below who your role models are!!

Leave a comment